Postdoctoral Fellowship


The Browne Center supports research on all aspects of international politics. Applications are welcomed from political scientists who have received their PhD or equivalent degrees in the last two years, or who expect to complete their degree by June 2025. Fellows at the Browne Center will pursue their own research as well as teach one course in Penn’s Political Science Department. The position pays a stipend of $65,000.

1. Curriculum Vitae
2. Research Statement
3. Writing Sample
4. 3 Confidential Letters of Recommendation

Our program values interdisciplinary research, collaboration, and collegiality; is committed to promoting a culturally diverse intellectual community; and strongly encourages applications from women, minorities, and underrepresented communities.

The University of Pennsylvania values diversity and seeks talented students, faculty and staff from diverse backgrounds. Penn is an equal opportunity and affirmative action employer. Candidates are considered for employment without regard to race, color, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, religion, creed, national or ethnic origin, citizenship status, age, disability, veteran status or any other legally protected class. Questions or concerns about this should be directed to the Executive Director of the Office of Affirmative Action and Equal Opportunity Programs, University of Pennsylvania, 421 Franklin Building, 3451 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104-6205; or (215) 898-6993 (Voice) or (215) 898-7803 (TDD).


Current Postdoctoral Fellow:

2023-2024, Cleo O'Brien-Udry, PhD, Yale University


Former Postdoctoral Fellows:

2022-2023, Megan Brand, PhD, Princeton University

2021-2022, Omer Solodoch, PhD, Tel Aviv University

2020-2021, Boram Lee, PhD, Harvard University

2018-2020, Jason Davis, PhD, University of Michigan

2017-2018, Julia Morse, PhD, Princeton University

2015-2017, Daniel McCormack, PhD, University of Texas at Austin

2014-2015, Michaël Aklin, PhD, New York University

2012-2014, David Hsu, PhD, Princeton University

2011-2012, Neil Narang, PhD, University of California San Diego

2009-2011, David Steinberg, PhD, Northwestern University