Post-Doctoral Fellowship

The Browne Center is now inviting applications for a postdoctoral fellowship during the 2020-2021 academic year. The Center supports research on all aspects of international politics. Applications are welcomed from political scientists who have received their Ph.D. or equivalent degrees in the last two years, or who expect to complete their degree by June 2020.

Fellows at the Browne Center will pursue their own research as well as teaching one course in Penn’s Political Science Department.  The position pays a stipend of $53,000.

Applications will be reviewed starting February 15, 2020. To receive full consideration, materials should be uploaded to Interfolio ( by the 15th.

1. Curriculum Vitae
2. Research Statement
3. Writing Sample
4. 3 Confidential Letters of Recommendation

Our program values interdisciplinary research, collaboration, and collegiality; is committed to promoting a culturally diverse intellectual community; and strongly encourages applications from women, minorities, and underrepresented communities.

The University of Pennsylvania values diversity and seeks talented students, faculty and staff from diverse backgrounds. Penn is an equal opportunity and affirmative action employer. Candidates are considered for employment without regard to race, color, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, religion, creed, national or ethnic origin, citizenship status, age, disability, veteran status or any other legally protected class. Questions or concerns about this should be directed to the Executive Director of the Office of Affirmative Action and Equal Opportunity Programs, University of Pennsylvania, 421 Franklin Building, 3451 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104-6205; or (215) 898-6993 (Voice) or (215) 898-7803 (TDD).



Current Post-Doctoral Fellow:

2018-2020, Jason Davis, PhD, University of Michigan

Former Post-Doctoral Fellows:

2017-2018, Julia Morse, PhD, Princeton University

2015-2017, Daniel McCormack, PhD, University of Texas at Austin

2014-2015, Michaël Aklin, PhD, New York University

2012-2014, David Hsu, PhD, Princeton University

2011-2012, Neil Narang, PhD, University of California San Diego

2009-2011, David Steinberg, PhD, Northwestern University