BCIP SPEAKER SERIES

The Browne Center sponsors an annual speaker series in which leading scholars present recent research on international relations. Unless otherwise stated, all presentations begin at 12pm in the Forum, Stiteler Hall, 208 S 37th Street at the University of Pennsylvania. Copies of the papers accompanying the talks are distributed via our electronic listserve and linked below. If you are not on this list and would like to be, please contact Emmerich Davies at emda@sas.upenn.edu.

 

2014-2015 Speakers:

 

Thursday, September 18, 2014

Judith Kelley, Duke University

Title: Who Cares? Micro-Level Evidence of Shaming Through Diplomacy

 

Thursday, October 16, 2014

Andrew Kydd, University of Wisconsin - Madison

Title: Misremembrance of Things Past: Cooperation despite Conflicting Narratives

 

Thursday, November 20, 2014

Francis Gavin, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Title: Contain, Open, and Inhibit: U.S. Grand Strategy and the Nuclear Revolution

 

Thursday, January 15, 2015

Songying Fang, Rice University  (Joint with The Center for the Study of Contemporary China)

Title: TBA

 

Thursday, January 29, 2015

Rose McDermott, Brown University

Title: TBA

 

Thursday, March 5, 2015

Sheena Greitens, University of Missouri (Joint with The Center for the Study of Contemporary China)

Title: TBA

 

Thursday, March 19, 2015

Michael Goodhart, University of Pittsburgh

Title: TBA

 

Thursday, March 26, 2015 (4:30PM)

Phil Potter, University of Michigan (Joint with The Center for the Study of Contemporary China)

Title: Terrorism Challenges in China

Room: ANNS Room 111

 

Thursday, April 2, 2015

Alan Dafoe, Yale University

Title: TBA

 

Thursday, April 16, 2015

Terrence Chapman, The University of Texas at Austin

Title: TBA